warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/history/public_html/modules/taxonomy/ on line 33.

First Lifetime Achievement Award

The National OA Committee created the Legacy of Servant Leadership Lifetime Achievement Award in 2002 to recognize the Order's second and third generation "Founders"—Scouters who have built an enduring legacy to Scouting and the Order of the Arrow (OA) through a lifetime of cheerful service to others.

Fifth National OA Committee Chair

After a record eighteen years serving as National Order of the Arrow Committee Chairman, L. George Feil retired from the position in 1978. National Boy Scout Committee Chairman Alec Chesser named Thomas G. McBride as Feil’s able replacement.

Tom McBride

Thomas G. McBride was inducted into Anicus Lodge, Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania in 1939. McBride became an Eagle Scout and Vigil Honor member. He was the Official Bugler at the 1940 National Meeting held at Camp Twin Echo, his local council camp. In 1952 McBride received the OA Distinguished Service Award (DSA) and in 1953 he was appointed to the National OA Committee. He graduated from the University of Pittsburgh School of Business and was vice president of marketing for Westinghouse Electrical Supply. He was a recipient of the Silver Beaver and Silver Antelope awards.

1952 DSA Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. Starting in 1952, the DSA was no longer limited to only three recipients. The following were presented the DSA at the National Order of the Arrow Conference; Gerald H. Blake, Andrew R. Groenink, Charles M. Heistand, Richard W. Marshall, Thomas G. McBride, John M. Pfeil, William S. Roth, Archie F. Wilson, J.

Syndicate content