warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/history/public_html/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.

1986 DSA Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The following were presented the DSA at the 1986 National Order of the Arrow Conference - Mark B. Beese, Darrel Bieker, Richard H. Breithaupt Jr., Elton L. Brogdon, Todd Brohaugh, Robert E. Burt, Jack Butler, Dr. Robert B. Carney, Daniel J. Churay, Kurt E. Ewen, William J. Fortier, Hal B. Gallop, Joseph P. Gareri, Charles A.

Co-Founder Edson 1891-1986

Photo of EdsonOn October 25, 1986, the Order of the Arrow was saddened to learn of the passing of the Co-founder Carroll A. Edson at the age of 94. E. Urner Goodman had preceded Edson in death making Edson the lone connection to the origin of Wimachtendienk.

Edson had enjoyed a long life. He was born December 29, 1891. He graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Dartmouth College in 1914 and a Masters Degree from Columbia University. Edson was hired in 1915 at the age of 23 by Philadelphia Council and co-founded the Order that summer at Treasure Island setting in motion a chain of events that would profoundly affect generations of Scouts.

OA at Philmont Training Center

In 1987 The Order of the Arrow began a lengthy utilization of BSA’s premier training venue – the Philmont Training Center at Philmont Scout Ranch. Scouting’s Mecca of high adventure camping was the perfect site for an organization often referred to as “Scouting’s Camping Honor Society.”

Film Features Goodman

The Closing show at the 1983 NOAC premiered the inspirational film See the Need, a short subject film on the life of E. Urner Goodman. The film contained excerpts from speeches by the founder and scenes of him with Arrowmen. The film was five years in the making and featured the song Meet the Challenge, written and performed by Sam Fairchild. All proceeds from the sale of the film went to the OA Endowment fund.

National Pow Wow

The 1987 National Pow Wow conducted at Northwest Community College in Powell, Wyoming from August 2-8. It was a great success and the knowledge gained and enthusiasm generated was felt in the lodges for a long time. Nearly 500 Arrowmen gathered for the first National Pow Wow that offered outstanding workshop seminars in three separate areas of interest: OA Showmanship, Indian Lore, and Ceremonies. As he was with the National Indian Seminar series, National OA Committee member Don Thom was the driving force behind this event. 

1983 DSA Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The following were presented the DSA at the 1983 National Order of the Arrow Conference - Richard M. Aberle, Kenneth G. Ackermann, Robert S. Akes, Mark S. Anderson, Dale J. Apley Jr., Frank R. Berger, Kurt E. Christiansen, Alan B. Cooper, Phillip Shaw "Ted" Costin, M. Gene Cruse, Steven C. Davidek, Thomas R. Deimler, Dennis G. Downing, Richard O. Eberly, Donald L. Fifield, Kenneth J. Grimes, Clifford J.

1987 National Planning Meeting

The Section Chiefs gathered together in the Dallas Area for the National Planning Meeting. Starting with this meeting, the National Planning Meeting would be an annual affair and all national and regional officers would serve one-year terms. National officers had served one-year terms in the early days of the Grand Lodge from 1921- 1926, but those were adult positions and only distantly related to the youth leadership positions. 

Fifth National Indian Seminar

1984 Nat'l Indian Seminar patchInstead of having just one National Indian Seminar in 1984, the National OA Committee made plans to hold three separate seminars at various sites around the country. Like their predecessors, the goal of these seminars was to improve the quality and authenticity of the Order’s Indian-related events and activities, and to provide Arrowmen with the necessary resources and training so that they could take this information back to their respective home lodges and sections.

Women in OA

Prior to 1988 the Order of the Arrow had been for boys and men only. Starting in 1988 female leaders could become members of the OA just the same as male leaders. The BSA had approved women to serve as Scoutmasters to insure some Scout troops could attend summer camp. Once women were Scoutmasters, it was necessary to have women in the Order to support the Scouting and the OA program. As with male Scoutmasters, women must be 21 years of age.

Sixth National OA Committee Chair

Tom McBride announced his intention to retire as the National OA Committee Chairman at the 1984 National Council Meeting. He stated that he was retiring because of his concern that new ideas and new leadership are critical for the continued success of the OrderPhoto of Thomas McBride.

Syndicate content