warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/history/public_html/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.

First Information for New Member Booklet Published

In June 1952 15,000 booklets were first published and distributed by the Order of the Arrow (OA). The title of the booklet was Information for New Members. George A. Mozealous of Owasippe Lodge, Chicago, edited the booklet. Mozealous was the 1940 National Chief when it was an adult position.

Wabaningo Lodge Emblem Handbook Produced

In 1952 Dwight W. Bischel published the Wabaningo Lodge Emblem Handbook, the “Wab” Book for short. It was a book sanctioned and actively promoted by the National OA Committee and was the first book to primarily feature OA patches. It was not a history book. It was an attempt to show a current or near current badge from each OA lodge that had issued what they called an emblem. (Note – they were called emblems in 1952 because they were emblematic; they stood for something. The ideal purpose for issuing insignia for the OA.)

Dwight Bischel - "Wab" Book

Dwight Bischel became a Scout in Chicago, Illinois and during the war years moved with his family to Bay City, Michigan. While in Bay City, Dwight earned his Eagle Scout with Silver Palm and was initiated into the Order of the Arrow. Dwight served as Lodge Chief of Gimogash Lodge, Summer Trails Council at Camp Haley for the summers of 1945 and 1946.

1952 DSA Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. Starting in 1952, the DSA was no longer limited to only three recipients. The following were presented the DSA at the National Order of the Arrow Conference; Gerald H. Blake, Andrew R. Groenink, Charles M. Heistand, Richard W. Marshall, Thomas G. McBride, John M. Pfeil, William S. Roth, Archie F. Wilson, J.

Arrow Ribbon Points Right

The Universal Arrow Ribbon first introduced in 1942 had always pointed over the wearer's left shoulder. Starting in 1950 the OA decided to rid itself of code words that referenced “left” and instead used "right".  

Chapman Retires

Effective January 1, 1953, George W. Chapman retired from the National OA Committee and as Vigil Secretary. Chapman agreed to stay on with the National OA Committee in the role of Editorial Advisor. Chapman had served the Order for nearly forty years. He had been there since the beginning, a charter member inducted by Goodman and Edson in 1915 at Treasure Island. He was the first youth leader in the Order elected the first Wimachtendienk chief.

1953 National Jamboree

The 1953 National Jamboree was held at Irvine Ranch, California, from July 17 to 23 with the theme “Forward on Liberty’s Team.” 45,401 Scouts and Explorers were in attendance for the Jamboree.

Because the Jamboree was held close to Hollywood, many movie stars including Roy Rogers, James Stewart and Bob Hope were able to make appearances. President Dwight D. Eisenhower (and Vice President Richard Nixon, who stayed overnight and helped to prepare breakfast for his home town troop) also visited the Jamboree.

Third National Secretary

In the fall of 1953, the National OA Committee announced that J. Richard Wilson had stepped down as OA National Secretary and had been reassigned as a Field Executive in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Phillip W. Robins was named Third National Secretary. Robins was a Vigil Honor Member of Sanhican Lodge, Trenton, New Jersey. Like his predecessors, Robins was active as a youth in the program having been an Area Chief and he was under twenty-five.

Second National OA Committee Chair

In December of 1949 the President of the BSA appointed H. Lloyd Nelson Chairman of the National Order of the Arrow Committee. G. Kellock Hale Jr. reluctantly submitted his resignation after only one year under doctor’s orders to give up all activities and have complete rest.

First National Planning Meeting

On December 29 – 30, 1949 the National OA Committee met with a conference of Area Conference Chiefs (the predecessor name for Area Chiefs and then later Section Chiefs, that were elected to a full year term) for the first National Planning Meeting. In the early years of National Planning Meeting only about half of all Area Conference Chiefs were invited. The tradition of holding a National Planning Meeting between the end of the year holidays has since been repeated more than 40 times, becoming annual in 1987. The inclusion of youth Area Conference Chiefs was new and in keeping with the new direction the OA was taking since the 1948 merger of the BSA and OA. This meeting was held at Alpine Scout Camp, Alpine, New Jersey. Future meetings would be held at the location of the next NOAC so that facilities could be reviewed or be held at or near the national BSA headquarters.

Syndicate content