warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/history/public_html/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.

First Meeting of National OA Committee

The very first meeting of the National OA Committee was held January 28 – 30, 1949 in Greensboro, North Carolina. G. Kellock Hale, Chairman set the agenda and discussed issues related to changes with the full integration into the BSA. One issue was the usefulness of the 12-region BSA system. Arrangements were discussed for a change in the Area system. The National OA Committee also agreed to send a letter to each lodge reminding them to send a stone to E.

Second National OA Committee Chair

In December of 1949 the President of the BSA appointed H. Lloyd Nelson Chairman of the National Order of the Arrow Committee. G. Kellock Hale Jr. reluctantly submitted his resignation after only one year under doctor’s orders to give up all activities and have complete rest.

First National Planning Meeting

On December 29 – 30, 1949 the National OA Committee met with a conference of Area Conference Chiefs (the predecessor name for Area Chiefs and then later Section Chiefs, that were elected to a full year term) for the first National Planning Meeting. In the early years of National Planning Meeting only about half of all Area Conference Chiefs were invited. The tradition of holding a National Planning Meeting between the end of the year holidays has since been repeated more than 40 times, becoming annual in 1987. The inclusion of youth Area Conference Chiefs was new and in keeping with the new direction the OA was taking since the 1948 merger of the BSA and OA. This meeting was held at Alpine Scout Camp, Alpine, New Jersey. Future meetings would be held at the location of the next NOAC so that facilities could be reviewed or be held at or near the national BSA headquarters.

First Brotherhood Sash

The Order of the Arrow National Bulletin in the spring of 1950 announced that there was a new sash for members of the Brotherhood Honor to wear.

1950 DSA Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. 1950 was the last time the award was limited to only three recipients. The following were presented the DSA at the 1950 National Order of the Arrow Conference - Herbert L. Gaskin, Robert H. Heistand and Wes H. Klusmann.

450th Lodge Formed

The growth of the Order was slowing as fewer councils remained that did not have OA.

Mitigwa Lodge of Des Moines, Iowa became the 450th Lodge to Charter on February 7, 1951.

Second OA Nat'l Secretary

Effective June 1951, J. Richard Wilson, the 1950 National Conference Chief, became the second Order of the Arrow National Secretary. The position was still a low level BSA professional job and was not a glamour position by any means. It was a tremendous clerical and administrative job.

OA Patches Approved for Uniform Wear

While patches are now pervasive in the Order of the Arrow, at the beginning of 1945, Arrowmen were still prohibited from wearing any OA patch on their uniform. This was related to the independence of the Order from national BSA. The BSA Uniform Committee had not permitted WWW patches on the uniform and the National Lodge dutifully requested compliance. However as often is the case, not everyone complied.

350th Lodge Formed

Maka-Ina Lodge of Chillicothe, Ohio became the 350th lodge to charter on August 20, 1946. Notwithstanding the fact that the Order had always grown on its own merits, the OA was meriting a new lodge at the rate of almost a new lodge a week.

Third Group of DSA Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The following were presented the DSA at the 1946 National Meeting. The number of awards was increased from three to six to compensate for not having a 1944 conference - Joseph A. Brunton, Jr., George W. Chapman, G. Kellock Hale, Jr., William E. Hoffmann, W.E. Vaughan-Lloyd and Robert L.

Syndicate content