warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/history/public_html/modules/taxonomy/ on line 33.

Fourth National Secretary

On December 1, 1958 Phillip W. Robins accepted a District Executive position with his hometown Portland Area Council. Robins had served the Order and the National OA Committee for five years, the longest tenure of any previous National Secretary. Martin Mockford replaced Robins effective February 1, 1959. Mockford had previously been an Assistant Scout Executive for Golden Empire Council in Sacramento, California and had a long resume of Scouting volunteer and professional service.

1954 DSA Recipients

The following were presented the Order of the Arrow's Distinguished Service Award (DSA) at the 1954 National Order of the Arrow Conference in Wyoming to - M. G. Boswell, Dr. Joe C. Carrington Jr., H. Edward Dike, Frank W. Hall Jr., Henry J. Henning, J. Powell Hunter, Phillip W. Robins and Scotty Williamson.

Third National Secretary

In the fall of 1953, the National OA Committee announced that J. Richard Wilson had stepped down as OA National Secretary and had been reassigned as a Field Executive in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Phillip W. Robins was named Third National Secretary. Robins was a Vigil Honor Member of Sanhican Lodge, Trenton, New Jersey. Like his predecessors, Robins was active as a youth in the program having been an Area Chief and he was under twenty-five.

Syndicate content