warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/history/public_html/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.




During the summer of 2015 each of the four regions sent a caravan of youth leaders to visit council camps and Scouting events in their region. At each ArrowTour stop Scouts, Arrowmen, and members of the community reflected, connected, and discovered the Order’s Centuries of Service.


NEXT! - A New Century

Next! - A New Century

As the centennial draws to a close, Arrowmen are asking, “What’s next?” The answer is the 2016 hands-on, high-energy summer program, NEXT: A New Century. This event features signature programs and training focused on membership, program, and innovation at the local level. Leaders gather at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana from July 30-August 3.

2015 National Planning Meeting


On December 27, 2015, the Section chiefs, section advisers, national OA committee members, key volunteers, and members of the BSA’s national OA professional staff gathered in Westlake, Texas for the Annual National Planning Meeting.  The program of emphasis during the four-day meeting was NEXT: A New Century, which focuses on the Order’s next century of service.  The elements of NEXT include such local level topics as brotherhood, membership, program, and innovation.

2014 National Planning Meeting

2014 National Planning Meeting

Section chiefs, section advisers, national OA committee members, key volunteers, and members of the BSA’s national OA professional staff gathered in Westlake, Texas for the 2014 National Planning Meeting.  The meeting’s activities were centered on the Order’s upcoming 100th Anniversary, and its year-long centennial celebration.

Centennial Campaign

Centennial Campaign

The National OA Committee set a goal to raise $1.2 million to create a permanent presence at the National Scouting Museum in Irving, Texas, and at each of the BSA’s High Adventure bases, enabling the OA to proudly display important historic pieces from the past as the Order moves into its second century.  The Centennial Campaign began in 2014.

Legacy Project

Legacy Project 2015


Introduced at the 2012 National Order of the Arrow Conference (NOAC), Legacy Project 2015 was a multi-phase project that aimed to have lodges think about their legacies. The four year-long phases included the lodge rock, legacy lid, history book, and centennial fire. Lodges left the 2012 NOAC with instructions and a crate.

Treasure Island Mural

Treasure Island Mural, 1936

Painted by Edward Spicer


The mural, Treasure Island is a painting of a map of the island by artist Edward Spicer.  It is a cornerstone to OA Art History.

The 12 foot-wide, seven-foot tall panel mural was dedicated to the Order at the 1936 National Lodge Meeting hosted by Unami Lodge on Treasure Island. The painting depicts an aerial outline of the island surrounded by the Delaware River. Various areas of camp, including the Unami Ceremonial Grounds , are suggested by indian figures indicating the history of Leni Lenape living on Island.

OA Summit Adventure

OA Summit Adventure

The OA Summit Experience (OASE) is the newest addition to the OA High Adventure programs. The concept of OASE stemmed from the 2013 National Scout Jamboree at the Summit Bechtel Reserve as a way to serve the Summit and surrounding community.

Original 1940 National Chief Bonnet Case

Original 1940 National Chief Bonnet Case/Portfolio Found

In 2014, members of the National OA Committee were made aware that the original 1940 National Chief’s Bonnet Case/Portfolio was in existence and well preserved.  Most current OA members with the exception of a few National Chiefs and past National Committee members were not even aware of its existence.  Those who were aware of the leather case believed that it also was destroyed along with the bonnet in the 1980 fire that consumed much of the Order of the Arrow’s early memorabilia.

Centurion Award

Centurion Award

Introduced for the centennial year of the Order of the Arrow, the Centurion Award was a one-time only award created to recognize arrowmen who meaningfully contributed to the forming, maturing, or ongoing operation of their lodge. Recipients were designated as either a youth or adult contributor, with a minimum service period of three years for youth contributors and six years for adult contributors. Posthumous awards were permitted.

Syndicate content